PUTRAJAYA, April 24 – The Election Commission (EC) has set May 25 for the Bukit Gelugor Parliamentary by-election while the nomination will be held on May 12 and early voting on May 21. EC Chairman Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusof said this by-election would use the 2012 electoral roll that had been combined with the electors’ registration for the first, second, third and fourth quarters of 2013. “Some 21 voting centres will be opened, including 17 for normal voting and the rest for early voting,” he told a media conference after chairing a special meeting relating to the vacant seat here Thursday. The by-election is being held following the death of its incumbent, Karpal Singh in a road accident at Km 306.1 of the North-South Expressway near Gua Tempurung in Kampar, Perak last April 17. In May 2013 general election, Karpal Singh, 74, from DAP, won the seat with 41,778-majority vote defeating Barisan Nasional, Teh Beng Yeam.

Nation News Politics

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.