GEORGETOWN, May 25 – Ramkarpal Singh has retained his late father’s seat with a handsome win over his rivals consisting of Parti Cinta Malaysia (PCM) vice-president Huan Cheng Guan and two Independents. He is declared winner with 89 percent of the votes, or a majority of 37,659 votes. Huan and Independents Mohamed Nabi Bux Mohd Nabi Abdul Sathar and Abu Backer Sidek have lost their deposits. Returning officer Anwar Yahya declares Ramkarpal is declared the winner of the Bukit Gelugor by-election, with a majority of 37,659 votes.

The final official results are as follows:
DAP: 41,242
PCM: 3,583
Mohamed Nabi Bux: 798
Abu Backer: 225

The official turnout is 56.3 percent.

Nation News