KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 18 – Second Education Minister Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh today announced the names of the eight members of the independent panel set up to review the standard operating procedure for public examinations following a leak in this year’s UPSR examination papers. They are Datuk Dr Mohd Tap Salleh, president of the Malaysian Institute of Integrity; Datuk Dr Asariah Mior Shaharuddin, former deputy director-general of education (development of teaching professionalism); Tan Sri Prof Dr Sharifah Hapsah Syed Hasan Shahabudin, former vice-chancellor of Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia; Datuk Mohamed Sharil Mohamed Tarmizi, chairman of Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission; Datuk Johari Jamaluddin, director-general of Chief Government Security Office; Dr Amirudin Abdul Wahab, chief executive officer of CyberSecurity Malaysia; Tan Sri K. Kumaran, former deputy rural and regional development minister and Lok Yim Pheng, secretary-general of the National Union of the Teaching Profession.

The panel is chaired by former chief justice Tun Zaki Azmi, whose appointment was announced by Deputy Prime Minister and Education Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin on Tuesday. The review of the SOP for public examinations comes in the wake of the leak in the Science and English examination papers for this year’s UPSR, which was held last week. Pupils will have to sit for the papers in the two subjects on September 30.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.