Changing Road Names In KL Is Ministry’s Decision – Tengku Adnan



KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 28 – The change of names of nine roads in the city was not made upon the request of the Conference of Rulers, but was on the decision of the Federal Territories Ministry. Its minister, Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor, said the decision was made because those former Yang di-Pertuan Agong were part of the country’s history and that the people should remember their names.

“The idea to change the names of those main roads did not come from Conference of Rulers (as reported by alternative media portals), but was from the ministry. “It was done with the aim to remind city dwellers, and Malaysians as a whole, of the names of our former Yang di-Pertuan Agong as they were part of Malaysia’s monarch system,” he told Bernama when contacted here Friday.

The Kuala Lumpur City Council in a recent statement announced new names for Jalan Duta, Jalan Khidmat Usaha, Jalan Ipoh, Persiaran Duta, Jalan Khidmat Setia and Jalan Ibadah, Lebuhraya Mahameru, Persiaran Mahameru and Jalan Semarak.

The new names for the roads are Jalan Tuanku Abdul Halim, Jalan Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah, Jalan Sultan Azlan Shah, Persiaran Tunku Syed Sirajuddin, Jalan Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin, Lebuhraya Sultan Iskandar, Persiaran Tuanku Ja’afar and Jalan Sultan Yahya Petra, respectively. The change took effect on Nov 26.

  • Guan Eng: SST Covers Only 38 Pct Of CPI Basket Of Goods Jul 19, 2018
  • SST Easy For Companies To Manage And Fair To The People Jul 19, 2018
  • Guan Eng: SST Will Not Burden The People Jul 17, 2018

error: Content Is Protected !