KUALA LUMPUR, April 8 – The Election Commission (EC) has set May 7, 2015 as voting day for the Permatang Pauh Parliamentary seat by-election. The nomination day meanwhile has been set for April 25 while early voting will be held on May 5. The announcement of the dates was made by Election Commission (EC) Chairman, Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Yusof after heading a special meeting held to set the dates and preparations for the Permatang Pauh by-election today.

On April 1, the EC received an official notification from the Dewan Rakyat Speaker in relation to the Permatang Pauh parliamentary seat vacancy. The Permatang Pauh seat was declared vacant after its incumbent, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, was disqualified as a Member of Parliament since March 16 after the Pardons Board rejected a petition for a royal pardon sought by the Opposition Leader’s family over his conviction for sodomising his former aide Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan.

Nation News

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.