ROMPIN, April 28 – A total of 545 early voters comprising military and police personnel and their spouses will be voting in the Rompin Parliamentary by-election at four polling centres on Thursday. Election Commission secretary Datuk Abdul Ghani Salleh said in a statement that the centres would be opened from 8am to 5pm.

“The voting centres are Dewan Seri Ibam, Royal Malaysian Air Force 322 Squadron, Bukit Ibam, Rompin District Police Headquarters common room and Muadzam Shah and Pulau Tioman Police Stations’ information rooms,” he said. Abdul Ghani said the early voting would be witnessed by the agents of the candidates contesting in the by-election.

“Local observers from non-government organisations and academicians appointed by EC can also observe the process by obtaining permission from the Malaysian Armed Forces and police to enter the polling centres,” he said. The Rompin Parliamentary by-election is to be held after the incumbent Tan Sri Dr Jamaluddin Jarjis died in a helicopter crash in Semenyih, Selangor on April 4. At the by-election, Barisan Nasional candidate Datuk Hasan Arifin will face PAS candidate Nazri Ahmad in a straight fight.

Nation News Politics

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.