ROMPIN, April 30 – Two of four early voting centres for the Rompin by-election, the information rooms of Muadzam Shah Police Station and Tekek Police Station, Tioman were closed at 2 pm today. They were opened at 8 am. An Election Commission (EC) spokesman said the voting centres were closed early as the number of voters in the area is small, 38 at Muadzam Shah Police Station and 15 at Tekek Police Station.

Two other voting centres, Dewan Seri Ibam (322 Squadron Royal Malaysian Air Force Base), Bukit Ibam and the recreation room of Rompin District Police Headquarters (IPD) remained open until 5 pm. As of 1 pm today, a total of 417 people or 76.51 percent of the 545 early voters have voted. They consist of 285 voters attached to the Malaysian Armed Forces (ATM) and 260 voters attached to the Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM).

Meanwhile, Returning Officer Datuk Fadzilla Salleh and Pahang EC director Shafie Taib observed the early voting at Dewan Seri Ibam in Bukit Ibam, more than 100 km from here. They arrived at Dewan Seri Ibam at 10.45 am and spent about half an hour there before heading off for Muadzam Shah Police Station. The Rompin by-election is a straight fight between seasoned Datuk Hasan Arifin of Barisan Nasional (BN) and newcomer Nazri Ahmad of PAS. 

It is held following the death of the incumbent Member of Parliament, Tan Sri Jamaluddin Jarjis in a helicopter crash in Semenyih, Selangor on April 4. In the 13th general election, Jamaluddin won the Rompin seat after defeating then Muslimat PAS chief Nuridah Mohd Salleh with a majority of 15,114 votes. Rompin has 52,744 ordinary voters. Polling day is May 5.

Nation News Politics

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.