PERMATANG PAUH, May 7 – Dato’ Seri Dr. Wan Azizah won back Permatang Pauh which have been announced by EC chairman Jusni Ismail today at IKBN Bukit Mertajam. Dr Wan Azizah garnered 30,316 votes which retained the seat for her party by an 8,841-vote majority with her nearest challenger with Barisan Nasional’s (BN) Suhaimi Sabudin which obtaining 21,475 votes.

Independent candidate Salleh Isahak and Parti Rakyat Malaysia’s (PRM) Azman Shah Othman have effectively losing their election deposits of RM10,000 each which managed 367 and 101 votes respectively. However, Suhaimi have manage to achieve his separate goal to reduce the majority for PKR by 2,880 votes.

Since then, the seat has remained with PKR through three general elections and one by-election with a total of 71, 290 registered voters in the constituency, the turnout today was at 74% which lower than the EC’s target of 80% on this By-Election.

Breaking News Nation News

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.