EC Meeting Today On Sarawak State Election Nomination, Polling Dates



KUCHING, April 14 – The Election Commission began its meeting at 9.30 am Thursday to set the nomination and polling dates for the 11th Sarawak state election. Attending the meeting held at Merdeka Palace Hotel are EC chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Hashim Abdullah and state director Datu Takun Sungga.

A press conference is expected to be held at 12 noon. On April 11, Chief Minister Tan Sri Adenan Satem announced the dissolution of the state legislative assembly on the consent of Yang di-Pertua Negeri Tun Abdul Taib Mahmud Abdul Taib, paving the way for the SE-11.

During the 10th state election in 2011, Barisan Nasional secured 55 of the 71 seats while DAP won 12 seats. The latter later lost one of its seats following Pujut assemblyman Fong Pau Teck’s dismissal from the party due to infighting. Three seats were won by PKR and one, by an independent candidate. This time around, 82 seats would be contested with the 11 additional seats created from the redelineation exercise conducted by EC last year.

Leave Comments

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.