PKR Fails To Increase Seats, Retain Original Three



KUCHING, May 8 – The PKR clash with DAP in six constituencies during the 11th Sarawak state election has resulted in the BN winning all the six seats. The DAP-PKR electoral understanding broke down as they fielded candidates against each other in disputed constituencies including three new seats – Batu Kitang, Mulu and Murum, besides Mambong, Simanggang and Ngemah.

PKR contested in 40 constituencies but only managed to retain the three seats, Ba’kelalan by its state chief Baru Bian, and Batu Lintang and Krian. PKR vice president Dr Xavier Jayakumar said he regretted the blame game that started at the DAP camp hours after the results were announced, calling for it to be stopped immediately. He also claimed that PKR performed better than DAP in the disputed constituencies.

“If all the facts are laid on the table, it will be clearly seen that they came behind PKR in three of the disputed seats, that is Mulu, Murum and Simanggang. It is unfortunate that the situation has to come to this; coalition politics require parties to work together to get the best results,” he said in a statement.

He said it was clear that the lack of unity was a factor in the loss of five incumbent seats for DAP and could have contributed to the losses in several seats as well. He said this is evidence that the voters in Sarawak disapproved of three-corner fights among coalition partners.

  • KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 18 – MYGROSER, Malaysia’s online grocery store, today announced new iOS and Android apps to help… Oct 18, 2019
  • 1 Areas affected for 12 hours Areas from Jalan Bukit Gambir to Bayan Lepas Time/Day/Date 10.00am to 10.00pm, Mond… Oct 18, 2019
  • KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 16 – In conjunction with the Malaysia Medical Device Expo 2019 (MyMEDEX 2019) the Malaysian Inves… Oct 17, 2019