Early Voting Opens In Sungai Besar And Kuala Kangsar



SUNGAI BESAR, Jun 14 – Early voting in the Sungai Besar parliamentary by-election begins at 8 am today involving a total of 286 policemen and their spouses. They will cast their votes at two polling centres at the Sabak Bernam Police District headquarters here – each for early voters in Sungai Panjang and Sekinchan state constituency. 

The polling centre for Sungai Panjang early voters will close at 5 pm, while the for Sekinchan early voters, at 2 pm. The process will be witnessed by agents of contesting candidates, besides local observers from non-governmental organisations appointed by the Election Commission. Sungai Besar parliamentary constituency has 42,655 registered voters, comprising normal voters (42,365), early voters (286) and absent voters who are currently abroad (four). 

The by-election sees a three-cornered fight between Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate, Budiman Mohd Zohdi, who is also Sungai Panjang assemblyman; PAS’ candidate Dr Abdul Rani Osman, who is also Meru assemblyman; and Amanah’s candidate Azhar Abdul Shukur, who represents the Pakatan Harapan. 

It is being called following the death of its incumbent Tan Sri Noriah Kasnon in a helicopter crash in Sebuyau, Sarawak, on May 5. At the last general election, Noriah defeated PAS’ candidate Mohamed Salleh M Husin with 399-vote majority. In Kuala Kangsar, two pre-poll centres for early voters opened at 8am today for the Kuala Kangsar parliamentary by-election.

The two centres are Dewan Tun Salleh Ismael at the police housing complex, district police headquarters, and conference room at Manong police station. Returning officer Mior Muhammad Jamil Mior Zakaria said 312 voters comprising members of the police force are eligible to cast their ballot.

He said the pre-poll centre at Dewan Tun Salleh will stay open from 8am till 5pm for 292 early voters. He said the pre-poll centre at Manong police station will be open from 8am till 2pm for 20 early voters. The by-election is being held following the demise of Kuala Kangsar member of parliament Datuk Wan Mohammad Khair-il Anuar Wan Ahmad in a helicopter crash in Sebuyau, Sarawak on May 5. 

Four candidates are in the fray for the seat, namely, Barisan Nasional’s Datin Mastura Mohd Yazid, Dr Najihatussalehah Ahmad (PAS), Prof Dr Ahmad Termizi (Parti Amanah Negara) and Independent Izat Bukhary Ismail Bukhary. A total of 32,949 voters are eligible to cast their ballot (including 312 early voters and five absentee voters), according to the Electoral Roll as at May 7. The normal voters will be casting their votes on June 18. — Bernama

Leave Comments

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.