DCA: Putrajaya Among No-Fly Zone Areas For Drones



SEPANG, Jul 27 – The federal government administrative centre, Putrajaya, is one of the no-fly zone areas for drones for security reasons, said Department of Civil Aviation (DCA) Director-general Datuk Seri Azharuddin Abdul Rahman. He said Putrajaya not only housed the official residence of the Prime Minister and his deputy, but also the ministries and other government offices.

“Putrajaya is a no-fly zone. Flying activities, including of helicopters and drones need to get approval from the Home Ministry. Besides the Home Ministry’s approval, those applying to fly drones are also required to get approval from DCA as they are required to fly at a certain height, which is not above 400 feet,” he told reporters after attending the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) – World Customs Organisations (WCO) Joint Conference on Enhancing Air Cargo Security and Facilitation, here Tuesday.

He was asked to comment a statement by Putrajaya Corporation (PPj), on July 15, which said that all drone flights needed to be verified by DCA and authorised by the Office of the Chief Security Officer of the Government of Malaysia, as Putrajaya was subjected under the sensitive area of Malaysia. Besides Putrajaya, Azharuddin said other no-fly zone areas for drones included the Parliament, Istana Negara, KLCC and airports. — Bernama

  • Penang 2030! https://t.co/nCTqjZBdZ6 Apr 27, 2019
  • https://t.co/GEHMeDUJhm Apr 27, 2019
  • Penang State Assembly Kick Start Today! https://t.co/Wr3jXsGk6r Apr 26, 2019