Malaysia Super League Clubs Opens Door To Sign An Additional ASEAN Player



KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 20 – The Football Malaysia LLP (FMLLP) announced on Monday that the ASEAN player quota will be implemented in the Malaysia Super League for five seasons, starting from the 2018 season onwards.

According to the new rule, all Super League teams will be allowed to sign an additional Southeast Asia (ASEAN) player. This change will be added to the previous 3+1 ruling, which has been opened to the clubs to register a maximum of four foreigners with one signing coming from Asia.

The new regulation applies to players from ASEAN members, including Thailand, Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Timor Leste and Vietnam. The ASEAN player must have at least 30 caps to be eligible for the quota.

Teams who want to sign an ASEAN player with less than 30 caps must get an approval from FMLLP first. The new ruling was endorsed by the FMLLP board on Sunday. The new season starts on Feb 5.

  • Penang 2030! Apr 27, 2019
  • Apr 27, 2019
  • Penang State Assembly Kick Start Today! Apr 26, 2019