Parliament Passes Redelienation Of Electoral Boundaries With 129-80 Vote



KUALA LUMPUR, Mar 28 – The Dewan Rakyat passed the motion of redelienation of electoral boundaries in the Dewan Rakyat here today with a bloc-vote of 129 against 80. It only needed a simple majority of 111 votes in the Dewan Rakyat to pass the motion.

The motion was passed after 14 MPs from both sides of the divide who debated for 10mins each on the Election Commission (EC)’s report. The motion was tabled by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak in the afternoon and was put to debate.

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, in his winding-up speech said the EC took into account all the grouses raised by various parties and have dealt with them accordingly.

“Despite having objections on the EC’s recommendations but we did not interfere in the EC’s work. Instead, we accepted and respect the decision by the EC and their proposed recommendations in the report,” he said.

Now that the motion on the proposed redelineation has been passed, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak, who had tabled the motion earlier, would present it to the Agong for his consent after which it will be gazetted. It need not go to the Senate to be debated and passed. — PN

  • SEPANG, 13 June 2020 – AirAsia is extending the sale of its Unlimited Pass Cuti-Cuti Malaysia for an additional two… Jun 13, 2020
  • AIR ITAM – Air Itam State Assemblyman YB Joseph Ng Soon Siang hopes the installation of decorative lamps at the Air… May 24, 2020
  • Having Problem With Storage? Check Out This Article To Help You Resolve Your Problem!… Apr 23, 2020