Tian Chua Disqualified From Batu Seat Over RM2k Fine



KUALA LUMPUR, Apr 28 – PKR vice-president Tian Chua has been disqualified by Election Commission (EC) from standing for the Batu parliamentary seat in the 14th General Election (GE14).

Returning officer Anwar Mohd Zain made the decision based on a March 2 Shah Alam High Court ruling which fined Tian Chua RM2,000 for insulting the modesty of a police officer. It will be a four-cornered fight as the PKR vice-president will not get to defend the seat, which he has held for two terms since 2008.

The accepted candidates are Datuk Dr Dominic Lau from BN-Gerakan, Al Azhar Yahya from PAS and two other independent candidates, P. Prabakaran and Datuk Panjamorthy Muthusamy. Prabakaran is a 22-year old law student while Panjamorthy was a former MIC member. — PN

  • AIR ITAM – Air Itam State Assemblyman YB Joseph Ng Soon Siang hopes the installation of decorative lamps at the Air… https://t.co/0jMgaQ2MAd May 24, 2020
  • Having Problem With Storage? Check Out This Article To Help You Resolve Your Problem! https://t.co/9u7NUSlXK7… https://t.co/8Wf2zkcgFC Apr 23, 2020
  • KUALA LUMPUR, 1 APRIL 2020 – With another pandemic, the Cabin Fever among the age group of 18-25 has been on the ri… https://t.co/1haKEfflM1 Apr 01, 2020