Upko Assemblymen Deny Joining Warisan, Pledge Loyalty To BN



KOTA KINABALU, May 10 – Upko’s five assemblymen have denied joining Warisan, saying they were still with Barisan Nasional (BN). The five are Ewon Benedict (Kadamaian), Datuk Abidin Madingkir (Paginatan), Datuk Bobbey Ah Fan Bin Suan (Nabawan), Datuk Masiung Banah (Kuamut) and Datuk Limus Jury (Kuala Penyu).

They were present at the media conference held by Sabah BN chairman Tan Sri Musa Aman today at the official residence of the chief minister in Seri Gaya. Masiung, a vice president of Upko, said the party’s supreme council had made the decision for them to join Warisan without their knowledge.

“I want to stress here that we were not consulted on the decision at the emergency meeting,” he said. Upko acting president Datuk Seri Wilfred Madius Tangau in a separate media conference earlier, had announced that the party was leaving BN to form a coalition with Warisan.

Masiung also denied that the five of them were confined in Sri Gaya since last night. He said they went to Seri Gaya voluntarily to see Musa. Meanwhile, Limus described the Upko leadership’s decision to leave BN as “not right”. — Bernama

  • Penang 2030! https://t.co/nCTqjZBdZ6 Apr 27, 2019
  • https://t.co/GEHMeDUJhm Apr 27, 2019
  • Penang State Assembly Kick Start Today! https://t.co/Wr3jXsGk6r Apr 26, 2019