PM: Pakatan Harapan Govt To Form 10 Ministries As New PH Cabinet First



KUALA LUMPUR, May 11 – Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad today announced that Pakatan Harapan (PH) government intends to form 10 ministries as new Cabinet of PH first, to fulfill the coalition’s 14th General Election (GE14) campaign promises. The cabinet will be announced tomorrow.

Dr Mahathir at a press conference today announced the ministries to be initially formed are Finance, Home Affairs, Foreign Affairs, Defence, Education, Rural Development, Economy, Public Works, Transport, as well as Multimedia, Science and Technology. He said heads of Pakatan Harapan’s four component parties, namely PKR, DAP, Parti Amanah Negara and Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia, had agreed with the plan. 

He said PH has yet to declare who the minister will be in charge of each portfolio. Stressing that he did not want to form a “huge cabinet”, Mahathir stressed the ministries were of equal status. He said the ministries will be divided “equally” among the four parties as there are no junior parties which it is important that all parties are represented.

Also present were, Amanah president Mohamad Sabu, PKR president Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail and DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng.On diplomatic ties with other countries, Mahathir said the government will continue to maintain a good relationship with all countries without favouring any particular country. — PN

  • Bayan Baru, September 14 – Some 150 entrepreneurs will be dressed in their best 70s and 80s style this 5 October 20… Sep 15, 2019
  • KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 13 – CIMB Group (“CIMB” or “the Group”) has announced new appointments in its top management lin… Sep 15, 2019
  • KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 13 – Five secondary schools teams which participated in Yayasan PETRONAS’ Sentuhan Harapan-All A… Sep 15, 2019