Shafie Apdal To Be Sworn In As 15th CM Of Sabah Tonight



KOTA KINABALU, May 12 – Parti Warisan Sabah (Warisan) president Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal is expected to be sworn in as the 15th Chief Minister of Sabah tonight. According to State Palace sources, the swearing-in ceremony would take place at the palace at 9pm.

In the 14th General Election (GE14), Mohd Shafie-led party won 21 seats, while its allies DAP and PKR won six and two seats, respectively. With their seats combined, Warisan, DAP and PKR still needed two more seats to have a simple majority to form the state government.

Sabah Barisan Nasional (BN), on the other hand, had the simple majority win with 31 seats after forging cooperation with Parti Solidarity Tanah Airku (Solidariti) led by Datuk Dr Jeffrey Kitingan, hence enabling Sabah BN chairman, Tan Sri Musa Aman, to take his oath of office as the state’s 14th Chief Minister for the fourth term, on May 10.

However, six Sabah BN assemblymen, four of whom were from Umno and two from Upko, crossed over to Warisan yesterday, putting the party in a best position to form the new government in the state.

Meanwhile, Mohd Shafie when met at his residence today, said he had not been officially notified about the swearing-in ceremony tonight. “Its not for me to know, lets hear it from the Istana (palace) first,” he said. — Bernama

  • SEPANG, 13 June 2020 – AirAsia is extending the sale of its Unlimited Pass Cuti-Cuti Malaysia for an additional two… Jun 13, 2020
  • AIR ITAM – Air Itam State Assemblyman YB Joseph Ng Soon Siang hopes the installation of decorative lamps at the Air… May 24, 2020
  • Having Problem With Storage? Check Out This Article To Help You Resolve Your Problem!… Apr 23, 2020