Kayveas: MyPPP To Remain Independent, Not Joining PH



KUALA LUMPUR, May 25 – MyPPP maintains its stand that it will be a party independent of any coalition, including the ruling Pakatan Harapan (PH), according to party president Tan Sri M. Kayveas. Speaking at a special press conference at Wisma MyPPP today, he said the party had no intention of joining PH after having left the Barisan Nasional (BN).

“Right now, we are focused on restoring the party leadership. Honestly, I am disappointed with the treatment accorded to the party when it was in the BN,” he said to reporters. Kayveas spoke to the media after chairing the inaugural meeting of the newly-appointed 22 member Supreme Council for the 2018-2023 term.

He said the appointments were made in accordance with the powers vested in the president by the party constitution. The appointments include five vice-presidents, namely Datuk Seri Gandi Muthusamy (senior vice-president), Datuk Zakaria Abdul Rahman, A. Chandrakumanan, Datuk Soma Sundram and Datuk Gilbert Goh Kian Puay.

MyPPP suffered an internal conflict when the party sacked Kayveas as the president, but he claimed that this was contrary to the party constitution because the president could only be replaced by holding a general assembly or extraordinary general assembly. Kayveas said he had received an official letter from the Registry of Societies confirming him as the rightful president of MyPPP. — Bernama

  • Penang 2030! https://t.co/nCTqjZBdZ6 Apr 27, 2019
  • https://t.co/GEHMeDUJhm Apr 27, 2019
  • Penang State Assembly Kick Start Today! https://t.co/Wr3jXsGk6r Apr 26, 2019