UMNO Picks Ahmad Zahid As New President



KUALA LUMPUR, Jun 30 – Bagan Datuk MP Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi was elected as the new UMNO President for the 2018-2021 session today. 

UMNO secretary-general Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor said Ahmad Zahid, who was previously the vice president discharging the duties of party president, won the post after receiving 78 votes, beating former Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin (53 votes) and Gua Musang MP Tan Sri Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah (28 votes).

He said the result was not yet finalised as voting from 34 divisions had not been validated or announced. However, he said the tally so far was enough to determine the winner.

“In the morning, we will announce the complete election results including the 25 Supreme Council posts,” he said in a press conference at Menara Dato Onn, PWTC here after midnight. — Bernama

Leave Comments

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • SEPANG, 13 June 2020 – AirAsia is extending the sale of its Unlimited Pass Cuti-Cuti Malaysia for an additional two… Jun 13, 2020
  • AIR ITAM – Air Itam State Assemblyman YB Joseph Ng Soon Siang hopes the installation of decorative lamps at the Air… May 24, 2020
  • Having Problem With Storage? Check Out This Article To Help You Resolve Your Problem!… Apr 23, 2020