KUALA LUMPUR, January 16 – An additional motion so that the positions of President and Deputy President are not contested in the upcoming election was approved at the 2022 UMNO General Assembly (PAU) on Saturday. UMNO Information Chief, Isham Jalil said the motion was supported by almost all the delegates involved. After being proposed and discussed, all motions brought by UMNO representatives from states throughout Malaysia including additional motions.

So that the positions of President and Deputy President are retained and not challenged in this year’s election) have been accepted and supported by almost all representatives in Dewan Merdeka this afternoon he said through a post on his Facebook on Saturday. The issue of UMNO’s election came into focus after there was a suggestion that the two highest positions in the largest Malay party should not be challenged. Ahmad Zahid won the position of President for the period 2018-2021 in the 2018 UMNO Election.

He defeated his challengers including Khairy and former Member of Parliament for Gua Musang, Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah. Ahmad Zahid got 93 votes, Khairy (51 votes), while Tengku Razaleigh or Ku Li got 23 votes. Mohamad who is the former Menteri Besar of Negeri Sembilan won with 75 votes defeating the former UMNO Information Chief, Tan Sri Annuar Musa for the position of Deputy President.