GEORGE TOWN, July 26 – The Penang DAP has dropped five of its Exco members from the list of candidates for the upcoming state election on August 12. The excluded members are Phee Boon Poh, Chong Eng, Soon Lip Chee, Yeoh Soon Hin, and P Ramasamy, who were serving as Exco members in various capacities within the Penang government. Phee Boon Poh represented the Sungai Puyu constituency, Chong Eng represented Padang Lalang, Soon Lip Chee represented Bagan Jermal, Yeoh Soon Hin represented Paya Terubong, and P Ramasamy represented Perai.

The seats previously held by these members have been filled by new candidates, except for the Padang Lalang seat, which will now be represented by Daniel Gooi Zi Sen. Wong Hon Wai, a former Member of Parliament for Bukit Bendera, will take over the Paya Terubong seat from Soon Hin. The party also made other changes in candidate representation for various constituencies. These changes include the replacement of Boon Poh by his daughter, Phee Syn Tze, and the replacement of Lip Chee by Chee Yeeh Keen.

Ramasamy’s seat will be taken over by S Sundarajoo, and Daniel Gooi’s seat will be filled by Wong Yuee Harng. In other updates, M Satees, who held the Bagan Dalam seat, will be replaced by K Kumaran. Chris Lee Chun Kit, the former assemblyman for Pulau Tikus, will be succeeded by Woo Sze Zeng, while Seri Delima’s seat, formerly held by Syerleena Abdul Rashid, will now be represented by Tan Hooi Peng. Syerleena is now a Member of Parliament for Bukit Bendera.

The DAP will retain ten incumbent assemblymen for the upcoming state election, including Lim Guan Eng, Zairil Khir Johari, Heng Lee Lee, Jason H’ng Mooi Lye, Chow Kon Yeow, Teh Lai Heng, Jagdeep Singh Deo, Lim Siew Khim, Oh Ah Teong, and Joseph Ng Soon Siang. The list of candidates was announced by DAP’s Secretary-General, Anthony Loke Siew Fook, during an event in Georgetown on Tuesday. Anthony urged all candidates to work hard during the campaign and remain humble, ensuring the people give their support to DAP.

He emphasized the importance of unity within the party and highlighted DAP’s goal of winning all 19 seats in the upcoming election. Anthony expressed gratitude to the candidates who were not selected for their services since 2018.

Pocket News