KUALA LUMPUR, August 28 – PIKOM, the National Tech Association of Malaysia, celebrated exceptional contributions to the technology industry and innovation in Malaysia at the PIKOM Unicorn Tech Awards Night on 27 July 2023 in Kuala Lumpur. The prestigious event, graced by YB Teo Nie Ching, Deputy Minister of Communications and Digital, and attended by nearly 1000 industry representatives, recognized outstanding individuals and organizations for their remarkable achievements in advancing the technology landscape.

In his welcoming address, PIKOM Chairman Ong Chin Seong extended congratulations to all the award recipients and reaffirmed PIKOM’s commitment to being the voice of the industry. “Our dedication spans across policy and regulatory changes, bridging the talent gap, addressing industry pain points, fostering business growth, and advocating for ESG initiatives, among other critical issues,” he emphasized. During her speech, YB Teo urged the industry to collaborate in raising awareness about cyber-security and fortify their efforts in data protection.

Highlighting the growing significance of Malaysia as a digital hub of Asia, she emphasized the need to safeguard citizens from potential losses due to future cyber-attacks. This year’s ceremony not only honored winners of the PIKOM Unicorn Tech Awards 2023 but also recognized recipients of the MSC Malaysia Asia-Pacific ICT Alliance Awards (APICTA) 2022 and PIKOM Academy Training Partners. Under the PIKOM Unicorn Tech Awards, accolades were presented for 8 Chapter Excellence Awards, 7 Special Recognition Awards, 6 Scale-Up Tech Icon Awards, and 5 main category awards. The esteemed main award recipients were:

  • Tan Sri Datuk Amar Haji Mohamad Morshidi, Chairman of Sarawak Digital Economy Corporation, for the Technology Personality Excellence Award.
  • Raymond Devadass, recipient of the Technopreneur Excellence Award.
  • Lawrence Leang Wah Choon, honored with the CIO Excellence Award.
  • Tenaga Nasional Berhad, recognized for the Tech Organization Excellence Award.
  • Huawei Malaysia, presented with the Member Excellence Award.

The MSC Malaysia APICTA Awards acknowledge outstanding achievements in the ICT industry by individuals, students, SMEs, innovators, and entrepreneurs. The event recognized 14 winners and merit recipients of the MSC Malaysia APICTA 2022 Awards, including notable organizations like Genting Malaysia Berhad, Innergia Labs, ABS Software International Sdn. Bhd., NexMind AI Sdn. Bhd., BSMART System Solutions Sdn. Bhd., and Asia Pacific University.

The evening concluded with the acknowledgment of 10 PIKOM Academy Training Partners who have collaborated with PIKOM to deliver exceptional training content tailored to current industry needs. The PIKOM Unicorn Tech Awards Night served as a platform to celebrate the remarkable achievements of individuals and organizations, highlighting their contributions to the growth and advancement of the technology sector in Malaysia.

Pocket News